In Which God Do We Trust?


 I was raised in the Christian faith, but have  found that most religions seem to have rules and laws that tell us to do things for the betterment of man. We seem to be able to follow these laws for the most part until it comes to meeting someone new who does not share in our religious beliefs, or until someone has what we want and refuses to give it to us, or sell it to us. When we are denied what we want I find that most religions do  an abrupt about-face and allow for a momentary lapse in its commandments for the betterment and enrichment of the country. This is where man starts to interpret the word of God to suit his own desires and interests and the word of God get perverted.  Most religious leaders seem to say that God overrides his own laws for humanity and orders them his chosen to go and take what is not theirs by any means necessary.  Whether it is an Islamic Holy War, or a  Christian Crusade, God has nothing to do with it except as something to blame for the our need to own everything and something that allows us to sleep at night when the acts grow so horrific that a reason of I just wanted it will not do.

Some say that this is Gods punishment and reward system and therefore man is only following the will of God which means that the winner had God on his side and the loser was praying and believing in a false God.  Through out history and even today armies have marched in the name of God slaughtering all that was before them and laying waste to the lands, conquering and slaughtering every thing in its path and all of this he claims is Gods will.  Gone is the God who said,”do onto thy neighbor as you would have done onto you”; gone is the God who said, “do not covet what is thy neighbor, thou shalt not steal and thou shalt not kill”.

These are now replaced with go into the land and force out totally all the inhabitants. Subject them to your will and make everything that was once theirs now  yours. Their lands, their cattle, their riches even their children and their wives will you take as your own. Destroy all the symbols of their worship and establish me as their one and only true God. Do all of this, or know my wrath.  It would seem like the battle of heaven is still raging and we the human race have become the warriors of opposing forces each with claims to rule and neither willing to share. If we continue along this path all will be lost and the signs are everywhere. Our planet is dying our people are suffering and we war on. No one can convince me that this is or ever was God’s plan for us.

In all religions that I know of children are to be cherished and in Christianity; Jesus Christ proclaims it. Does not the bible say that Jesus said,” Suffer the little children to come unto me; forbid them not: for to such belong the kingdom of God.”  How is it then that the church from it highest members have either committed sexual abuses on children or, hidden child abuse in all of its many forms and sheltered the perpetrators of such acts  and have done little in the way of preventing such acts against children? How is it possible that terrorist are guilty of knowingly killing innocent children to further goals and causes and call themselves acting in the name of God?  How is it possible that these so call Godly people claim that they are getting their instructions from God?  How is it possible that the word of God can be so misinterpreted and misunderstood by so many claiming to know the Lord, or Allah, or Jehovah? I ask you in which God are we supposed to trust. Is it the God of peace and love of thy neighbor , or is it the take what you want from whom you want, but make the world love and serve me, or are they truly one and the same? I belive in the hymn that says, Jesus loves the little children, all the children of the world. Red and Yellow, Black and White all are precious in his sight. Jesus love the little children of the world. 

I also believe that you can’t be a good anything only when it suits you and only take the part of a faith that is to your liking. I think that no man can speak for God and that God is all things and can be found in all things. I believe than when you cause another pain or destroy what God has put on this earth you are not acting like a Godly person. rapists, murders, liars, war mongers, and all violators of human decency are written about in al;l religious books and articles since time began and in none of them does it refer to these people as doing gods will, but they all talk about the penalties for such actions and false testimonials. 

I think that we have changed the word of God to suit our own purposes. I refuse to believe that God has told anyone to hurt children, or anyone else for that matter. God has not told anyone to steal what does not belong to them, be it land, jewels, or anything else. I do not believe that God sends man to war against other nations for the purpose of making God, if you will, better known, or because that land has something that the other wants. I believe that instead of walking in the way of  God and making ourselves in Gods image we have chosen instead to fashion God in ours and in here lies the problem with our interpretation of religion.  God, thanks to us has taken on all of our human frailties; our wants, needs, ambitions and prejudices. We have made God our weapon of mass destruction and claimed him ours and that we alone know him and that it is we he leads into battle; but does not God say that he is all things to all men?

1 Corinthians 9:19-23 : For though I am free from all men, I have made myself a slave to all, that I might win the more. 20 And to the Jews I became as a Jew, that I might win Jews; to those who are under the Law, as under the Law, though not being myself under the Law, that I might win those who are under the Law; 21 to those who are without law, as without law, though not being without the law of God but under the law of Christ, that I might win those who are without law. 22 To the weak I became weak, that I might win the weak; I have become all things to all men, that I may by all means save some. 23 And I do all things for the sake of the gospel, that I may become a fellow partaker of it.

 Paul is saying in 23, “If I omit this concern of love for others, although through my work, devoid of such love, many others may be saved, yet I myself would not be saved.” In other words, Paul knew that his faith in Christ would be utterly inauthentic and false, if he abandoned the pattern of life set by Jesus and no longer cared for other people. This lack of caring my friends is where I think we are today.  We claim to be trying to follow in the ways of God using unGodly methods thereby damning our own souls and bringing chaos to the world.

No matter how we see God and by what name we choose to call him, her, or it we must begin to follow life in a righteous manner, loving, caring and doing things that would please God and not our selfish desires and wants. We must learn to share and become our brother’s keeper. We can continue to interpret, the Koran, the Torah, or Talmud, the  Bible and all of the other religious books and scriptures to suit our individual purposes and needs, but I think that God is God and he reveals himself in many ways, shapes forms and communicates in all languages and we do the Lord an injustice and a dishonor when we try to do reprehensible acts in his, or her, or its name.

About archemdis

I try to say what is on my mind and not hurt others, but some things need to be said whether they hurt or not and I do just that. I try to listen as well as talk, but my opinion is just that mine. You need not take it as your own, just respect the fact that I am entitled to it, as you are yours. I do read all comments, but will only answer, or allow to be displayed those which adress me by name, refer to the post by name in the comment, or that have been sent through the proper channels. In this manner I can tell whether the comment was meant for me and that it is not just spam.
This entry was posted in abuse, abuse of power, abuse of women, Authority figures and Parents Who Sexually Abuse children, Canada, Charitable Organizations, charity, Child Abuse, Child Abuse, Child torture and child soldiers, Christmas, genocide, Government, Prejudice, Schools and Learning Places, stereotyping, Teachers, Terrorism, The Church, The work force, Uncategorized, United States of America and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Which God Do We Trust?

  1. And I trust that (as Derek Webb sings) these too shall be made right. Religion Spirituality Wholesale

Comments are closed.