I Am Thankful For All For That God Has Given Me And My Family


I am thankful this is not me, although it could have been

I complain a lot because I think that our politicians are letting us down and we are letting ourselves down, but just to set the record straight I think that Canada is one of the greatest countries in the world with some of the greatest people in the world living in it.  I am so thankful that my mother decided to come back here to live when she left my father.   I am thankful that in Canada that I am able to write these types of posts expressing how I feel about things without censure.

I am thankful that I got s second chance to get my life together, get out of the crime scene and be a good father to my children and a good grandparent. I am so thankful that over the years I have been able to support my family friends and loved ones both emotionally and financially. That my family and I sleep everyday in a bed out of the elements, with all that we need and some things that we don’t; that we eat all that we want, makes me very thankful in this time of world economic crisis.  Life could have gone the other way for me and my family, but it did not and I am both grateful and thankful.

I am thankful when I wake up every morning.  It means that the world  made it through yet another night and humanity has been given yet another day to change its ways. Another day to stop destroying the planet; another day to stop polluting the air that we breath, the water that we drink and the soil that we need to grow our food.  I am thankful that we have been given yet another day to think about the way we are killing off all of the other creatures of this planet by destroying the habitat, or hunting them out of existence.

I am thankful for the job that I do, because I enjoy it and it allows me the opportunity to do things for my family and friends that without it would be impossible to do.  I get to talk to young men who are like I used to be, looking for the party, not thinking about tomorrow and try to wake them up, like I was woken up and it feels good.  I am thankful to tell my story to them and know that I have tried.  When I see a young mans life turn around just a little I know that there is hope for him and his family and that make me so thankful and grateful that I had a small part in it.

I am thankful for the hurt that I feel at times and the joy in my heart most of the time, the tears that swell up in my eyes at sad times in my life and the laughter that comes out of me when I find something funny, because all of these things say that I am a living breathing feeling human being.  I am glad that I am not too much of a man to weep when I am hurting in my heart and soul; I am glad that I am not too much of a man to express the joy that I feel in things considered unmanly to express by others. I am grateful that I am me and that I am free.  Free to express all that I believe and all that I think that I am even if no one wants to hear it and even if no one hears.

I am thankful for my children and grandchildren who have shown me the lighter side of life.  The people for whom I would do anything and who are my inspiration, my reason to fight for a better world. I love everything about them and could not imagine a day without them in my life and am so grateful that they are all well and safe. I am grateful that  they have everything that they need for now, even if they do not have everything that they want.

I am thankful for the women in my life for without them none of who I am would be possible. Most of what is good in me was instilled in me from these women, the softness, the love of life, the protectiveness of ones children, the sensitivity for others, was all taught to me by women and I am just so grateful to have had women in my life.  They have helped me raise my children, do well in business and when I needed someone to listen to me, it was in them I could count on and I thank God everyday for allowing me to finally see the light.

I am thankful that I live in this great country even with all of its faults. With all of its faults Canada is still one of the best countries to live in and work in. It is one of the best countries to raise children in and live without fear in. I am thankful that we at least get to vote in or out our government every four years so what is bad in government does not have to stay that way forever, or until the country goes into total anarchy and ousts it by means of war. I am thankful that in this country we can talk like this and nobody will break down our door.  I am thankful that in Canada we all enjoy a lot of freedoms still that a lot of countries do not afford their citizens.

Last, but not the least I give thanks to almighty God without whom I belive none of this is possible. For everything above and so much that I have not mentioned I am thankful to God the creator of all things and the one that makes all things possible.  It is true that this not a perfect world, but this is no fault of God’s, it is mans fault for straying from the path.

About archemdis

I try to say what is on my mind and not hurt others, but some things need to be said whether they hurt or not and I do just that. I try to listen as well as talk, but my opinion is just that mine. You need not take it as your own, just respect the fact that I am entitled to it, as you are yours. I do read all comments, but will only answer, or allow to be displayed those which adress me by name, refer to the post by name in the comment, or that have been sent through the proper channels. In this manner I can tell whether the comment was meant for me and that it is not just spam.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Am Thankful For All For That God Has Given Me And My Family

  1. Pingback: 10 Things I’m Grateful for Everyday Update « Well-Being Inside and Out

Comments are closed.