There Is No Good Cancer No Matter How Slow No Matter How Good The Recovery Rate


this is the surgical procedure I will be having, with the robot

It is said to identify a problem or face a fear usually allows for some comfort and so it was with my diagnosis of prostate cancer.  It has been some what of a challenge not to scream out and strike down those who feel the need to tell me that my cancer is not so bad and that they know of lots of people that have survived and are now just like they were before the operation with a few exceptions. I smiled inside myself, as I listened as the surgeon backed up by my therapist telling me that the prostrate was very close to the group of nerves that control a man’s erection and that there was a possibility that after the operation and erection could become a thing of the past.  Now without going into much of my personal business (smile) I find the prospect of never having intercourse again a little disconcerting and though not life threatening I did not see this prostate cancer as such a little thing not worthy of any concern.

erectile dysfunction

Some estimate at 30 to 40 per cent the chance of having spontaneous erections after surgery that spares one nerve bundle and indicate that this goes up to between 50 to 70 percent if both nerve bundles are spared. A workable erection is occasionally possible in about 4 months after surgery, but 6 months to a year is a more usual recovery time. Sometimes, it takes as long as two years before the spared nerves recover and erectile function is restored.

Note: It is important to realize that prostate cancer, if left untreated, can cause both erectile dysfunction and incontinence, as well as death.

rectal exam

I now understand also the feeling of humiliation women feel when they are asked to drop their clothing get up on a bed and spread their legs and endure the prodding of their privates by a total stranger and often not women doing the looking and prodding, but men.  My therapist was a female and she needed to feel the sphincter muscle to be able to know if I was doing the exercise properly.  This lady was the sole of professionalism, but I was embarrassed and feeling very shy none the less.  I could not even imagine having to endure this type of thing from the time I entered puberty like women do.  Even though it is a doctor and even though it is necessary it is a humbling, embarrassing experience and I shall never make light of this type of procedure again.  Well I did make light of it with some long time friends when after several rectum examinations in the same week by my team of doctors and therapist I said, “I have been prodded and poked in my bum so much that I feel like putting cones around the area hanging a sign down my back saying men at work”.

Note: It is important to realize that prostate cancer, if left untreated, can cause both erectile dysfunction and incontinence, as well as death.

internal and external sphincters upper and lower)

On a serious note there is so much to do before the removal of my prostate and my life style will be changed for over a year in more than just the social way, but before we get to that let me tell you about another little thing that happens to men after having this operation whether by robot or by human hand.  We have an upper sphincter and a lower one.  Now the lower one only comes into play  I am told when we try to hold our need to urinate when the bladder is just too full the upper sphincter asks for the help of the lower to keep us from soiling ourselves.  This upper sphincter that acts without need of command will not survive the operation and hence the need for the therapist who will give you exercises to help strengthen and make the lower sphincter stronger and as automatic as the upper one used to be.  For a week I will have to wear a bag and after that I will have to wear incontinence pads until I learn to control the lower sphincter enough to cut off the bladder from leaking every time I move, cough, or do anything that applies pressure to the bladder and that I was made to understand is just about everything. This stage of  my recuperation can last from 1 week to 6 months usually, but in rare cases it will be this way forever.  This is a lesser fate than death of course that is the inevitable in a lot of other types of cancers, but it is not the cake walk that others who do not have it seem to think it is.

Note: It is important to realize that prostate cancer, if left untreated, can cause both erectile dysfunction and incontinence, as well as death.

Very humbling to say the least, but very necessary

Then there is the inability to lift anything heavy for at least 1 month and this means a bag of groceries, because of internal scarring or chance of rupture.  I am a mover and this means a loss of wages.  In my case it means no working for over a year if need be.  Now lots of people could not afford to be of work for this long and not a lot of people have this type of salary  since most companies no longer cover their employees as they used too in these hard economic times. These are real considerations that drive a person to worry about things other than death but just as hard on their nerves.  To know that while you are convalescing that your bills will be adding up and that depending on what you do you may never be able to go back to work is not a cherry thought.

Note: It is important to realize that prostate cancer, if left untreated, can cause both erectile dysfunction and incontinence, as well as death.

during the operation this sphincter will be damaged and the external or lower one will have to be strengthened and taught to act voluntarily if urine incontinence is to be corrected.

I do not say these things to frighten men from having this procedure I say them to enlighten those who would seek to comfort a friend or love one by saying that any kind of cancer is a good cancer to have.  It does not make me feel better and I doubt that the phrase makes anyone with cancer feel better.  May I suggest to offer your support instead and an offer to do things that will become difficult for the person who is suffering cancer all through from the diagnosis to the recovery.  May I suggest that no one wants to repeat over and over every detail of what is happening to them and so let them decide when to talk about their illness and when they do not, you could talk about the same things you would have before finding out the person had cancer.

Note: It is important to realize that prostate cancer, if left untreated, can cause both erectile dysfunction and incontinence, as well as death.

Symbol for Prostate Cancer

Everyone that I know from the time they are old enough knows some one who is either going through cancer, being diagnosed with cancer or has had a family member, friend or loved one die from cancer and one of the greatest fears that most people live with is  getting cancer.  Once being diagnosed with cancer the fear of getting it is over and the fight to survive ones cancer begins.  We with cancer choose to fight it in as many different ways as there are differences in people.  It is a sensitive as well as emotionally charged time in the cancer patients life and so one never knows what could be said that would send the cancer patient into depression, or worse, so it is advisable in my opinion to steer the cancer patient towards therapy and cancer support groups, where the person can discuss cancer with people suffering from the same cancer as they have; people who have first hand knowledge of what they are going through.

I know that all of the comments are meant well and meant to put me at ease and reassure me, but I find that they do not make me feel well.  I think in my mind that you would be not saying that if your greatest fear medically was realised and I was slinging statistics at you.  I think that when I want an opinion on what it is like to have, live, or survive cancer I will go to a cancer support group where I can hear and discuss the problems and the issues connected to cancer first hand. With my family friends and loved ones I would like to be listened to when I need a shoulder and treated normally in our every day dealings with each other.  I find that reassuring my family, friends and loved ones everyday that I am doing okay is more energy draining and causes more emotional ups and downs for me than anything else that is going on in my head.

Money Worries Spur Millions to Skip Cancer Therapy. My first therapy secession was not covered by the government and cost $90.00. The doctor told me it was vital to my recovery, but what if I did not have the money? What then? How many other things that are needed for mew to recover will be needed and can i afford them is one of our greatest worries.

Remember that being diagnosed with cancer does not lessen our worries about you, our family, friends and love ones, or lessen the worries of other things going on in our lives, it takes them to a priority level higher than ever before.  Things and preparations that we never worried about before and thought that we had all the time in the world to take care of, all of a sudden become need to be done yesterday as soon as we are diagnosed with the disease. I know that the urge for you to do, or say something comforting is almost overwhelming, but I would urge you to be as normal in conversation  and treatment of your family member and friend as humanly possible and think before you speak whether it is they you are trying to console or you.  This of course is just my opinion a guy who has recently being diagnosed with prostate cancer.

Note: It is important to realize that prostate cancer, if left untreated, can cause both erectile dysfunction and incontinence, as well as death.

From Thyroid Problems To Diabetes And Now Cancer Archemdis

About archemdis

I try to say what is on my mind and not hurt others, but some things need to be said whether they hurt or not and I do just that. I try to listen as well as talk, but my opinion is just that mine. You need not take it as your own, just respect the fact that I am entitled to it, as you are yours. I do read all comments, but will only answer, or allow to be displayed those which adress me by name, refer to the post by name in the comment, or that have been sent through the proper channels. In this manner I can tell whether the comment was meant for me and that it is not just spam.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to There Is No Good Cancer No Matter How Slow No Matter How Good The Recovery Rate

  1. I gave you the best of the best, and will always give you the best of the best advice bar none.

  2. You would be amazed at what U, C, S care like atlas Orthogonal can do. We must to have better heath is thinking about prevention with the young who think they have no underlying problems. Believe me that is where we must begin to have better health in this life. Had Jesus be here the flesh he would endorse the same care I speak of

    • archemdis says:

      I understand what you mean, but there are a lot of reasons for bad health and your explanation and answer is a little too simplistic for me. People need to be treated. We cannot always shove everything on God’s plate. God gives us all sorts of tools to help us and I choose to believe that Medicare is just one of them.

  3. Prostate cancer signs typically commence with the problem within urinating. Generally there exists a small discomfort inside appendage and also the circulation is unusual. Cancer of the prostate emergency …prostate cancer

    • archemdis says:

      Well I for one had no discomfort at all, or circulation problem. My sex life was good. In fact if I had not been getting my regular prostate check up I would have never known anything was wrong. What did put the doctor on alert was an increasing of my PSA by just a little every year and the discovery of a slight swelling on the left side durring the rectal exam. Thank you so much for the link I am sure it will be helpful to those looking for more information. …prostate cancer http://www.scribd.com/doc/78878058/The-Truth-About-Prostate-Cancer

  4. Pingback: McQueen to undergo cancer treatment | Manchester United Schedule and Fixtures

  5. LaMonique says:

    I will be praying for your speedy and full recovery! The cancer support group is a good idea. My mother benefitted greatly from hers, because only people who are going through or have survived the disease really know all the implications.

    • archemdis says:

      Thank you for the prayers and your kind words. What you said in your comment was exactly what I was trying to say. have a great weekend LaMonique!

  6. Sorry for the posts that are similar. It is late, and I end up making silly mistakes .

    • archemdis says:

      That is okay Artie it is called being human (smile). One night owl to another I can relate.

  7. What I have told you is the best thing to do. Infants on up need to be evaluated. Avoiding diversified Chiropractic is a must. They press on the upper back on adults, and infants, and that way of doing doing things makes me flinch. Twisting the head right, and left with a jerk at the end of the movement is not good ether. Thrusting down on the hips, and traction does not do any good ether. Having someone try, and thrust, and or press down on the vertebra between your shoulder blades does not help anything ether. .Grostic is one good technique. When done on you will feel as if nothing much is being done, but slowly the atlas is being moved back where it should be. The number of times the movement against the atlas is according to what the x rays say. Best with four X rays , Base Posterior, Nasium, A-P open mouth, and lateral. The devil is the master of confusion. Find it, and he will be there having a hay day confusing humans.

  8. To that I say http://www.upcspine.com.U.,C,S, practitioners. Not waiting for symptoms is best. They have helped humans with many ailments, and cancer is one that they have helped. Best early in life, and monitored throughout life is best. We have traumatic incidences happen to us, and only an outside force to the atlas from the right angle, and force can help to restore balance to the body, and mind.

    • archemdis says:

      I think a big problem is that there is so many contradicticting opinions from the so called experts and the government that one gets very confused as to what is best to do. These great minds change from year to year and it is hard to determain if any of them really know what they are talking about, or are the changes based now on cost to inssurance companies, the cost to the country, or our whether our health is the primary consideration. Have a great night Artie!

  9. To that I say http://www.upcspine.com.U.,C,S, practitioners. Not waiting for symptoms is best. They have helped humans with many ailments, and cancer is one that they have helped. Best early in life, and monitored throughout life is best. We have traumatic incidences happen to us, and only an outside force to the atlas from the right angle, and force can help to restore balance to the body ,and mind.

Comments are closed.