Did God Create Man, Or Did Man Create God?


I have never been totally convinced that: there was a super entity responsible for creating the Universe; the World; Humanity, nor all that lives on the earth, swims in the sea, or flies in the air.  I have never been totally convinced that mankind’s very existence depended on the whim of any super entity; nor that every human being was born sinful.

As a youngster, being told there was a God gave me both comfort and distress in equal parts; although I never understood exactly what, or who God was, I understood that he gave my mother strength. When my mother punished me for wrong-doing, the Devil never came up; she called upon God often though, saying: “God, give me the strength not to kill this little fool.”

I have used religion as a guide when it suited me to do so, but I have never credited God, or Lucifer, for my successes or failures.  I was taught to admit to my mistakes and deal with the consequences of my actions. No one with the power to punish me ever accepted the excuse that the Devil made me do it.  With the knowledge that I, alone, would be held accountable for my actions and that neither God, nor Satan could help me, I was set free. I understood that I controlled my own destiny and would no longer be dependent on the gods for anything, ever again.

I did not get the choice of what church to attend, or faith to follow; the Anglican Church was handed down to us and as such I was taught what it was to be an Anglican Christian.  When I was old enough to decide for myself what to believe in, I felt no loyalty to Christianity, instead I looked for answers to questions that troubled me about Christianity.    From the time I crossed the threshold of St. George’s Anglican Church, until the Reverend asked me to leave and not come back, I knew there were questions that I had to ask that could not and would not be answered; declarations of what God had done without any proof; Christianity came down to having faith in what other men said, and I had never been comfortable, nor good with that.

The Bible says that Man was born of sin, unable to resist doing the Devil’s work most of the time. If that were true, I reasoned, how could I:

determine what was true in the scriptures and what was not;

know the Bible, itself, contained the actual words of God, written down by man;

know that Satan and Hell were not just urban legend, started a long time ago to frighten children into being good, like the boogie man, or the candy man;

When I questioned the supremacy, the all-knowingness and the infallibility of God (first in Sunday school classes and then to the Reverend himself), I was told, “Some things just have to be taken on faith.”

When I ask why God did not know that Lucifer was plotting a rebellion in heaven, I was told, “Pray to God for the answer…  Man’s purpose is to glorify God and serve God, not to question his greatness… Who do you think that you are that you think yourself able to understand the greatness of God’s thoughts and reasoning?”

When I learned about the African slave trade, apartheid, the lynching of black people in the USA, the forced segregation of White and Black people in the USA, as well as other abuses inflicted on my ancestors by good church going White Christians, I sought answers from the Reverend. I asked him:

would the enslavement of Africans have been known to God and their enslavement have been part of God’s plan?

 was it true that North Americans embraced slavery because they were Christians, and not in spite of the fact that they were Christians?

would Africa have been better off without Christianity?

did God condone slavery?

The Reverend explained that the slavery the Bible says God condoned was a different kind of slavery; those slaves were more like indentured servants and not at all like the wicked, cruel form of slavery imposed on the Black people of the USA.  Even then, I knew that slavery was slavery and that he and the Bible were wrong; and if they were wrong then so was God.

I did not want to be part of a church, or follow a God if this is what he espoused to be righteous and acceptable.  Not quite finished asking questions about God’s great plan for Humanity I asked the reverend:

did God not know of priests having sexual relations with young boys in my neighborhood, and if getting away with it was also part of God’s great plan for both the priest and the boys?…surely if God knew, he would have done something to stop it?

was the boys’ suffering and shame on this earth the price they had to pay for getting into Heaven?

did God condone the threats of excommunication of parents and children that threaten to complain and cause problems for the priests and church?

was homosexuality a sin in the eyes of God, or not?

I remember the sad look in the Reverend’s eyes as he closed his Bible, got up, and asked me to leave the church and not come back while he was still ministering God’s work.  I think it was then and there that I first asked myself the question whether God created Man in his image, or had Man created God in his image?

I have heard it said that Christianity must change with the times to be effective in our ever-changing world, but I say that Christianity is based on the fact that God is:

never wrong;

 everywhere at once;

knows our every thought and deed;

truth.

If all of these things are true, then how can what was not in God’s favour yesterday, suddenly be in God’s favour today, why the need for change? Had the All-Knowing One not considered everything?

These are some of the questions that plagued me as a child; the questions that got me kicked out of Sunday school class, and in the end, my church.  To these questions came the answer: You just have to have faith…I would always ask, Faith in what; faith in whom?

I do not understand the whole Devil thing; why and from where could an Angel created by God, with no other purpose than to serve and glorify God, get the idea to be jealous of God?

With no Devil yet present, from where does this jealousy stem?

From what I can see Man has changed the Bible and therefore, the Christian faith to suit himself since Christianity hit the earth.  My question is therefore: Is Christianity or any other religion, more than an attempt to control Humanity by a few, and the creation of God/ Gods, the hammer by which the powers that be drive home the laws and morals of a time period?

Is religion like a fairy tale and our story time-heroes; only alive and able to exist, as long as some one believes in them?  When a God becomes irrelevant, does he simply get replaced by a new more understanding God, more up to speed with the problems of the day?

Did all of the main religions of the world take on the ideology found in a best-selling book of a popular philosopher, in a time of great destruction and chaos?  Is it possible that man has made God into whatever he needs at the time?  Finally, can a God exist if no one chooses to believe in him? In other words, does God require man to live rather than man requiring God to live?

These are the questions that have remained unanswered to me throughout my life about religion, holy books, holy wars and the spreading of a certain religion. We know that there were many Gods being worshipped, many before Christianity, so where did they go and why?

It is only when:

I look at the wonders of nature, for example, that I see God;

I look at the sky and see the universe that Man tries to learn about, but really has no idea how it all came to be, that I see God;

I see a little baby before it is changed and influenced by elders, that I see God.

It is said, that to accept God you must accept God totally, believe in what you do not understand on faith, and follow the instructions left for you in His  books, e.g. for Christians the Bible, but which one, which version, (King James) which denomination, (Anglican, Catholic) etc.

 I know that for me, none of these so-called churches represent my God, because they have recreated God in their images.  My God would have to be a God who would:

feed the starving and heal the sick;

lead you to him through love and good deeds and not through force and violent wars.

I am still looking for this God: Have you seen such a being?

About archemdis

I try to say what is on my mind and not hurt others, but some things need to be said whether they hurt or not and I do just that. I try to listen as well as talk, but my opinion is just that mine. You need not take it as your own, just respect the fact that I am entitled to it, as you are yours. I do read all comments, but will only answer, or allow to be displayed those which adress me by name, refer to the post by name in the comment, or that have been sent through the proper channels. In this manner I can tell whether the comment was meant for me and that it is not just spam.
This entry was posted in The Church and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Did God Create Man, Or Did Man Create God?

  1. Why am I bring up ISIS and the Quran? I say it because I love you and all of the furries and those I defend. I am here to warn people about them. Please trust me. When I say I love you I mean it. The proof of us is what we make. The proof of God is what he made for us. They are his gifts to us. Muslims practice deceit. They want sharia law. The Quran allows for cannibalism. They will treat people as if they are beef cattle with Sharia law. I am not just saying this. They see us like the Halal animals they slaughter. If it was not so I would have told you. I have no hate in me. I say what is. I have studied this for a long time. My vison is way beyond yours. I am a furry that is different than any furry you have ever known. I am not interested in oil flow. That does not even enter my mind. I see who is saying the words in the Quran. Jesus talks like the Quran is written yes or no? Don’t turn me off, answer me.

    • archemdis says:

      See you next time Artie, back to the garbage pail for you. You have been warned before about tying to post such nonsense on my blog spot. I trust in me, my feelings and sense of right and wrong. I do not need you to preach to me about how your vison is way beyond mine, lol, or to tell me how you are a furry that I have never seen before: What I need you to show me is some tangible proof, which you have already told me that you cannot do.

  2. We cannot touch or look at God’s face God in his glory in the body we have right now. Tangible that you ask is not possible. God is spirit. He may chose to show himself without his glory to whoever, but people would have to know his kind giving spirit to see past an image that has no comeliness to it. The goodness that he has is in him. I am not your enemy. I don’t love with dissimulation. I am not given to lying. The bible is not from the mind of man. Jesus is not of this world saying that to Pontious Pilate with that man not even hearing Jesus. Hear me refusing to discount my words. Don’t play with your soul. I am dead serious about all that I say. Man cannot boast about beginning life. Man will kill the life that is. He that is life made life. What other being could that be? God who is life in us will want to preserve life. People without God do not value life. ISIS people using the Quran is a good example of people who are godless. Have God value life being like Jesus. Be without God be like God’s enemy. The works and words will show what spirit a person has. The body with sin in it cannot do good without that spirit in them. They will not be merciful. They will not forgive. Their words will not be pleasant. I have the gift of discerning spirits. Trust me.

    • archemdis says:

      Why bring up ISIS and the Koran Artie? This is what I mean about you; you cannot offer any proof of what you say about your God, and so you resort to spewing out anti Muslim sentiments, politically motivated rhetoric and propaganda that has little to do with Christianity, but rather to promote Islamophobia to justify goin g to war to control the flow of oil.

  3. God’s spirit in us keeps us from being burned up.

    • archemdis says:

      “God’s spirit in us keeps us from being burned up.” If you say so Artie, whatever that means? I guess that is as close as an answer to the faith question that I have ever gotten lol. The truth is, that other than words in a book that other men wrote, claiming came from God, you have absolutely no proof of anything you espouse to believe in. I will say good night and leave you to your opinion, because unlike you, I believe that you are entitled to have your own opinion without being burned. Thanks for the discussion.

      • archemdis says:

        This is my last response to your anti Islamic ramblings. If Christians were not killing innocent Muslims with bombs every day, I might consider you Seeing God through Christians actions, but if murdering innocent people on a daily basis is the Christian way of doing good deeds, then I pass. Thanks for the discussion, but you will not be moved and nothing you have said has changed my mind so go in peace.

  4. God created us. We use what is to make what we make.

    • archemdis says:

      On what do you base that statement Artie, ‘Faith?’

      • I based it on what we see. The bible says the evidence of things not seen. Ever consider the things that are seen? God who made them will burn them up because death is in them. It is important to have God’s spirit in us doing good to others. That spirit will see evil people for what they are. You would be wise to consider all that I say rejecting nothing.

      • archemdis says:

        Ah, I see said the blind man: Artie Whitefox is yet another representative of God on earth, empowered by God’s spirit to speak on behalf of God, so that we all can be forewarned and consider all that Artie Whitefox has to say, rejecting nothing. All I ever hear from you Artie Whitefox is racist rhetoric, and threats of impending doom; are these the good works your God’s spirit is directing you to do?

    • archemdis says:

      Proof Artie Whitefox. Do you have any tangible proof of what you say other than what is written in the Bible? If yes please share that knowledge with me. You would be the 1st.

      • We cannot touch or look at God’s face God in his glory in the body we have right now. Tangible that you ask is not possible. God is spirit. He may chose to show himself without his glory to whoever, but people would have to know his kind giving spirit to see past an image that has no comeliness to it. The goodness that he has is in him. I am not your enemy. I don’t love with dissimulation. I am not given to lying. The bible is not from the mind of man. Jesus is not of this world saying that to Pontious Pilate with that man not even hearing Jesus. Heat me refusing to discount my words. Don’t play with your soul. I am dead serious about all that I say. Man cannot boast about beginning life. Man will kill the life that is. He that is life made life. What other being could that be? God who is life in us will want to preserve life. People without God do not value life. ISIS people using the Quran is a good example of people who are godless. Have God value life being like Jesus. Be without God be like God’s enemy. The works and words will show what spirit a person has. The body with sin in it cannot do good without that spirit in them. They will not be merciful. They will not forgive. their words will not be pleasant. I have the gift of discerning spirits. Trust me.

      • archemdis says:

        Words Artie; just empty words. No matter how many of them you write down they will only prove one thing, and that is that you believe in them with blind faith.

Comments are closed.